Super Cup 2023: Odisha FC Crowned Champions

Odisha FC

Odisha FC handed Bengaluru FC a defeat in the finals of the Super Cup 2023 and clinched away a title for the first time since their inception in 2019. Bengaluru FC suffered their 2nd final loss in this season and they would be heavily disappointed with their losses.

Diego Mauricio netted a brace in this game and was once again the star performer of the night. Notably, he had also won the Golden Boot in the Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 for netting 12 goals and was exceptional with his footballing prowess.

Simon Grayson’s Bengaluru FC were dealt with a major blow ahead of the finals as their star midfielder Javi Hernandez was ruled out of the tournament because of an injury. Despite Sunil Chhetri’s penalty in the last few minutes of the game, the Blues couldn’t crawl back into the game.

In the 22nd minute of the game, Diego Mauricio scored a goal through a set-piece free-kick. His ball slipped out of the hands of Bengaluru FC’s shot-stopper, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

Odisha FC scored their second goal in the 38th minute. Victor Rodriguez whipped in an inch-perfect cross from the left flank and it was headed into the goal’s direction by Mawihmingthanga. The ball then fell in the trajectory of Mauricio and he didn’t miss the opportunity to score the goal.

The Juggernauts after losing to ATK Mohun Bagan in the qualifying round of the playoffs in ISL 2022-23, now have finally won a silverware and would be extremely happy with it.

After Josep Gombau was sacked as the Head Coach of Odisha FC, there was an air of uncertainty over their performances in the Super Cup 2023. But under the tutelage of Clifford Miranda, the team performed exceedingly well in the tournament and bagged the honours.


Bengaluru FC

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lara Sharma, Amrit Gope, Alan Costa, Namgyal Bhutia, Parag Shrivas, Wungngayam Muirang, Prabir Das, Hira Mondal, Sandesh Jhingan, Aleksandar Jovanovic, Bruno Ramires, Jayesh Rane, Suresh Wangjam, Danish Farooq, Rohit Kumar, Biswa Darjee, Javi Hernandez, Sunil Chhetri, Prince Ibara, Udanta Singh, Sivasakthi Narayanan, Leon Augustine, Roy Krishna, Faisal Ali.

Odisha FC

Amrinder Singh, Niraj Kumar, and Lalthuammawia Ralte. Narender Gahlot, Carlos Delgado, Osama Malik, Shubham Sarangi, Denechandra Meitei, Sahil Panwar and Lalruatthara; Paul Ramfangzauva, Raynier Fernandes. Saul Crespo, Thoiba Singh Moirangthem, Princeton Rebello, Victor Rodriguez, and Isaac Vanmalsawma. Pedro Martin, Diego Mauricio, Nandhakumar Sekar, Akshunna Tyagi, Jerry Mawihmingthanga, Isak Ralte, Soosai Raj, and Aniket Jadhav

Also read: ISL 2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan Crowned Champions After Narrow Win Over Bengaluru FC