DC vs MI Head to Head Record in IPL


Delhi Capitals is set to take on Mumbai Indians in the 2nd match of IPL 2022. Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai will host this fixture on March 27 at 3:30 pm.

In the IPL history so far, both sides have clashed in a total of 30 games of which 14 have been won by the Delhi Capitals and the rest 16 by Mumbai Indians. Last year in 2021, DC walked away with two comfortable wins over the five-time champions. They defeated Mumbai first in the India leg at Chennai by 6 wickets and repeated the same feat in the Dubai leg at Sharjah by 4 wickets.

They faced each other for the first time on 4 May 2008 at the DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai. Whereas the last time the two teams met was at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in UAE. Batting first, Mumbai was restricted at 129 with the loss of eight wickets. Surya Kumar Yadav top-scored 33. Avesh Khan and Axar Patel bagged three scalps each for Delhi.

In the chase, Rishabh Pant scored 26. Later Shreyas Iyer and Ravichandran Ashwin remained unbeaten to take Delhi across the winning line with 5 balls to spare. Trent Boult, Jayant Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, and Nathan Coulter-Nile got a wicket apiece.

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals was established in 2008 as Delhi Daredevils before embracing a new avatar in December 2018. After the rebranding of the franchise, Delhi Capitals has been one of the most promising teams of the Indian Premier League featuring a blend of young talents and veteran players. Their performance has been consistent as they made their way to the playoffs in the last two seasons consecutively.

Delhi also reached the IPL finals for the first time in 2020. However, they lost the final to Mumbai by 5 wickets. This year they have added some firepower in form of David Warner and Mitchell Marsh, Kuldeep Yadav, and Shardul Thakur.

David Warner alongside Prithvi Shaw forms a fantastic combination of openers. Warner’s record has been fantastic in the league’s history, winning the orange cap three times. Coming to the middle order, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant and Sarfaraz Khan are the perfect trios when it comes to the shorter format. Marsh is already a solid batter coming recently from WCT20 and BBL while Sarfaraz has the dynamic hitting ability.

In case DC plays Rishabh Pant at the No. 5 spot then KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh, or Yash Dhull are also decent options for the No. 3 spot. Axar Patel bagged three scalps in the last encounter between the two teams and can contribute with the bat as well.

Shardul Thakur, Chetan Sakariya, Kuldeep Yadav, and Anrich Nortje form a decent blend of spinners and quicks. Sakariya and Nortje will most likely dominate in the powerplay while Shardul and Kuldeep Yadav will operate in the middle overs.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians, on the other hand, is inarguably one of the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League. Having won the prestigious title most times in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020, they are the top contenders this year as well.

Rohit Sharma is set to captain the franchise again and will open the batting alongside Ishan Kishan. Kishan is prominent for his stylish batting and will go all guns ablaze from the first ball. Suryakumar Yadav will continue to strengthen the No. 3 position whereas Kieron Pollard will keep things afloat at No. 5 in case things go southwards. The No. 4 position will be possibly filled by the 19-year-old young talent, Tilak Verma. Verma’s performance with the willow was exceptional for the India Under-19s campaign.

Mumbai will be relying on some newcomers like Tim David & Sanjay Yadav to finish matches for them. While Tim David is already a lethal player of the shorter format of the game, Sanjay Yadav also has some prior experience with Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Jasprit Bumrah will be leading the bowling attack for Mumbai Indians while Murugan Ashwin will pose as their lead spinner. Daniel Sams and Tymal Mills will also compliment Bumrah in the pace department.

DC vs MI Head to Head Record

DateWinnerWon byVenue
2-Oct-2021Delhi Capitals4 WicketsSharjah
20-Apr-2021Delhi Capitals6 WicketsChennai
10-Nov-2020Mumbai Indians5 WicketsAbu Dhabi
5-Nov-2020Mumbai Indians9 WicketsDubai
31-Oct-2020Mumbai Indians57 runsDubai
11-Oct-2020Mumbai Indians5 WicketsDubai
18-Apr-2019Delhi Capitals37 runsMumbai
24-Mar-2019Mumbai Indians40 runsDelhi
20-May-2018Delhi Capitals7 wicketsMumbai
14-Apr-2018Delhi Capitals11 runsDelhi
6-May-2017Mumbai Indians14 runsMumbai
22-Apr-2017Mumbai Indians146 runsDelhi
14-May-2016Delhi Capitals10 runsDelhi
22-Apr-2016Mumbai Indians80 runsVisakhapatnam
4-May-2015Delhi Capitals37 runsDelhi
22-Apr-2015Mumbai Indians5 wicketsMumbai
22-May-2014Delhi Capitals6 wicketsSharjah
26-Apr-2014Mumbai Indians15 runsMumbai
20-Apr-2013Mumbai Indians44 runsMumbai
8-Apr-2013Delhi Capitals9 wicketsDelhi
26-Apr-2012Delhi Capitals7 wicketsMumbai
15-Apr-2012Delhi Capitals37 runsDelhi
6-May-2011Mumbai Indians8 wicketsDelhi
9-Apr-2011Mumbai Indians32 runsMumbai
12-Apr-2010Mumbai Indians98 runsDelhi
16-Mar-2010Mumbai Indians39 runsMumbai
20-May-2009Delhi Capitals7 wicketsEast London
7-May-2009Delhi Capitals4 wicketsCenturion
23-May-2008Mumbai Indians29 runsMumbai
3-May-2008Delhi Capitals5 wicketsDelhi

Top Batsmen with Most Runs in DC vs MI Head to Head

Rohit Sharma is ruling the chart for the top scorer in DC vs MI head-to-head matches with 684 runs. Followed by Kieron Pollard with 360 Runs. While Virender Sehwag remains the top scorer for DC at 375 runs.

Rohit Sharma684
Virender Sehwag375
Kieron Pollard360
Shreyas Iyer359

Top Bowlers with Most Wickets in DC vs MI Head to Head

Lasith Malinga boasts the most number of wickets in DC vs MI head to head as well as in IPL. Though he is now retired from all T20 formats, Jasprit Bumrah will pose as his successor with 20 Wickets and will surely surpass him this season.

For Delhi Capitals, Amit Mishra has the most wickets at 19 followed by Trent Boult at 14 Wickets.

Lasith Malinga22
Harbhajan Singh21
Jasprit Bumrah20
Amit Mishra19
Trent Boult14

IPL 2022 Group A & Group B

Mumbai IndianChennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
Delhi CapitalsPunjab Kings
Lucknow Super GiantsGujarat Titans

IPL 2022: MI Complete Squad

Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Basil Thampi, Murugan Ashwin, Jaydev Udadkat, Mayank Markande, N Tilak Varma, Sanjay Yadav, Jofra Archer, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, Tim David, Arshad Khan, Anmolpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Fabian Allen, Aryan Juyal, Riley Meredith.

Mumbai Indians IPL 2022 Schedule

DateFixtureTime (In IST)Venue
March 27MI vs DC7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 2MI vs RR3:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 6KKR vs MI7:30 PMMCA Stadium – Pune
April 9RCB vs MI7:30 PMMCA Stadium – Pune
April 13MI vs PBKS7:30 PMMCA Stadium – Pune
April 16MI vs LSG7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 21MI vs CSK7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 24LSG vs MI7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
April 30RR vs MI7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
May 6GT vs MI7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
May 9MI vs KKR7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
May 12CSK vs MI7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 17MI vs SRH7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 21MI vs DC7:30 PMWankhede Stadium

Read More

PBKS vs RCB Head to Head Record in IPL

CSK vs KKR Head to Head Record in IPL

For the latest cricket news and update follow KhelTalk.