IPL 2023: Qualifier 2, GT vs MI Head-to-Head Records In IPL

GT vs MI Qualifier 2 Head-to-Head Records

On Friday, May 26, 2023, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the defending champion Gujarat Titans (GT) and the five-time champion Mumbai Indians (MI) will square off against each other for the third time in the crucial Qualifier 2 of the IPL 2023.

The last time GT and MI faced off was in IPL 2023 Match No. 57 at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, where the home team upset the defending champion Gujarat Titans by a score of 27 runs. Suryakumar Yadav’s first IPL century against GT (103) helped MI set a massive total of 218 in just 20 overs.

Gujarat Titans responded by scoring runs from Rashid Khan (79*) and David Miller (41), but their efforts fell short of the 219-run mark, and Gujarat Titans ultimately lost by a score of 27 runs. Check complete details on GT vs MI head-to-head records.

Gujarat Titans

Gujarat Titans will enter the match having lost by 15 runs to the four-time champion Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier-1. GT has one more opportunity to guarantee their spot in the finals because they lost the match in Qualifier-1. 

They lost the game owing to a very uncommon batting collapse, and Rashid Khan’s 16-ball 30 at the very end barely helped them narrow the margin of defeat. Shubman Gill was the only other batsman to put up a great effort, scoring 42 runs. 

Mumbai Indians

In contrast, the Mumbai Indians will enter the match having defeated the third-placed Lucknow Super Giants by a huge 81-run margin in the IPL 2023 Eliminator. They defeated LSG in their maiden IPL victory, ultimately eliminating them from the game. 

The only factor was Akash Madhwal, who bowled 5/5 in 3.3 overs, his greatest bowling performance. They won the elimination match, thus they just need another victory to advance to their seventh IPL final.

Head-to-Head IPL 2023 Record of GT vs MI

In the three games between the two teams, MI has an advantage with two victories to GT’s one.

Total – 3

GT – 1

MI – 2

List of matches played between GT and MI since IPL 2008

12-May-2023Mumbai Indians27 RunsWankhede Stadium,Mumbai
25-Apr-23Gujarat Titans55 RunsNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
6-May-22Mumbai Indians5 RunsBrabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Most runs in GT vs MI fixtures

Suryakumar Yadav (MI) – 139 runs 

Most wickets in GT vs MI fixtures

Rashid Khan (GT) – 8 wickets


Gujarat Titans Squad: Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Hardik Pandya(c), Dasun Shanaka, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami, Yash Dayal, Vijay Shankar, Srikar Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Abhinav Manohar, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Matthew Wade, Darshan Nalkande, Urvil Patel, Sai Sudharsan, Jayant Yadav, Pradeep Sangwan

Mumbai Indians Squad: Ishan Kishan(WK), Rohit Sharma(C), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Tilak Varma, Hrithik Shokeen, Chris Jordan, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, Kumar Kartikeya, Sandeep Warrier, Ramandeep Singh, Tristan Stubbs(WK), Vishnu Vinod(WK), Nehal Wadhera, Arjun Tendulkar, Duan Jansen, Riley Meredith, Arshad Khan, Raghav Goyal, Dewald Brevis, Shams Mulani

Also Read: IPL 2023 Final Tickets: Prices, Booking Link, How To Buy Tickets, All You Need To Know