Explained: Can PBKS Still Qualify For The Playoffs?

Shikhar Dhawan PBKS

Punjab Kings (PBKS) dug themselves a big hole in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 after their 15-run loss at the hands of Delhi Capitals (DC). With an inferior run rate as well as compared to other teams, PBKS would be hoping for a miracle now in order to qualify for the playoffs.

As admitted by skipper Shikhar Dhawan, Punjab’s bowling department in IPL 2023 was a big let-down. Some of the poor performances from the bowlers resulted in matches being gifted away to the opposition teams.

With the competition levels surmounting in IPL for the 3 remaining sports, Punjab Kings now need to depend on other teams’ performances in order to secure a place in the playoffs.

How can Punjab qualify for IPL 2023 playoffs?

The Shikhar Dhawan led Punjab side presently have 12 points from 13 games and have a poor net run-rate of -0.308. They are presently languishing at the 8th position in the IPL 2023 points table and have a task at their hand.

Firstly, they need to win their last remaining game against Rajasthan Royals (RR) on 18th May 2023 at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamshala. They would then go on to 14 points. Punjab also need to ensure that they win this game by a huge margin in order to better their run-rate.

On the other hand, Punjab also need to hope that Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) lose their remaining games. While MI are on 14 points with 1 game remaining, Bangalore are on 12 points with 2 games remaining.

Punjab also need to hope that Mumbai lose the game by a huge margin so that their run-rate becomes better than the 5-time IPL champions. RCB presently have the best run-rate out of the chasing pack and it stands at +0.166.

If RCB lose one and win one, then Punjab would have to depend on their net run-rate to pip past Bangalore.

Punjab Kings also need to hope that Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) lose their last game against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) on 20th May 2023 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

Punjab Kings Squad in IPL 2023

Prabhsimran Singh, Shikhar Dhawan(c), Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma(w), Sam Curran, Sikandar Raza, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Rishi Dhawan, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Matthew Short, Harpreet Singh Bhatia, Mohit Rathee, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Baltej Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Gurnoor Brar, Shivam Singh

Also read: IPL 2023: 3 Reasons Why RCB Should Drop Dinesh Karthik