Hockey World Cup Winner’s List: Champions, Runner-up, Most Trophies, All You Need To Know 

Hockey World Cup Winner’s List

The Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup 2023 is scheduled to run from January 13 to January 29 in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela. The tournament, which will be played in two stadiums in Odisha, Kalinga Stadium and Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium.

The tournament will feature a total of 16 teams from five pools. Let’s look at some Men’s Hockey World Cup trivia in the meanwhile, along with a list of the champions.

Since its inception in 1971, the Men’s Hockey World Cup has been held once every four years. The Men’s Hockey World Cup, which debuted as a 10-team competition in its inaugural iteration, has grown over time and is now competed in by 16 nations from all over the world.

Ten teams competed in the 1971 edition, while 14 teams competed in the 1978 edition. The other editions, including the most recent, had 16 teams, while the other ten had 12 teams each.

Hockey World Cup Winner’s List: Most Trophies 

Only six of the 26 participating countries have won the Hockey World Cup in its 14 iterations, with Pakistan being the most successful team with four titles and two runner-up finishes.

The next two top teams are Australia and the Netherlands, each of which has three championships. The Dutch have placed third twice and second place four times, respectively. The Australians have placed third five times and second twice. 

Germany, which previously competed as West Germany and has won the hockey world cup twice, is the following successful team. They are followed by Belgium and India, each with one title.

Hockey World Cup: Continent-wise Trophies 

ContinentBest performance
Europe6 titles, won by the Netherlands (3), Germany (2), and Belgium (1)
Asia5 titles, won by Pakistan (4) and India (1)
Oceania3 titles, won by Australia
AmericasThird place (Argentina, 2014)
AfricaFourth place (Kenya, 1971)

Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup: Year-wise Winner List

1971SpainPakistan vs SpainPakistan
1973NetherlandsNetherlands vs IndiaNetherlands
1975MalaysiaIndia vs PakistanIndia
1978ArgentinaPakistan vs NetherlandsPakistan
1982IndiaPakistan vs West GermanyPakistan
1986EnglandAustralia vs EnglandAustralia
1990PakistanNetherlands vs PakistanNetherlands
1994AustraliaPakistan vs NetherlandsPakistan
1998NetherlandsNetherlands vs SpainNetherlands
2002MalaysiaGermany vs AustraliaGermany
2006GermanyGermany vs AustraliaGermany
2010IndiaAustralia vs GermanyAustralia
2014NetherlandsAustralia vs NetherlandsAustralia
2018IndiaBelgium vs NetherlandsBelgium

Also Read: FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: Ranveer Singh, Disha Patani, And K-POP Band Main Attractions At Opening Ceremony, When And Where To Watch?