Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: Complete Schedule, Match Timings, How To Watch Live

Men's Hockey World Cup 2023

On January 13, Argentina and South Africa will face off at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar to kick off the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup. Spain and host India will square off in Rourkela at the recently built Birsa Munda Stadium on January 13, . The World Cup will be in its fifteenth year.

Every four years, a men’s national field hockey competition is organized under the supervision of the International Hockey Federation.

The competition will be held in India for the second time in a row. Belgium won the 2018 World Cup in Bhubaneswar as well, with the Netherlands coming in second and Australia taking home the bronze.

Australia, Argentina, Belgium, France, England, Chile, India, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Malaysia, South Africa, New Zealand, Spain, and Wales are the 16 teams competing in the World Cup event. 

All teams will be divided into four groups of four teams each for FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023. The teams who finished second and third in each group will play a crossover round, with the winner moving on to the quarterfinals, while the group’s winner advances directly there.

Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: Pool set 

Pool A: Argentina, France, Australia, South Africa 

Pool B: Germany, Belgium, Korea, Japan 

Pool C: Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Netherlands 

Pool D: India, England, Wales, Spain

Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: Venue 

The FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup will take place in Odisha, India, in 2023. The contests will be held in the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and the Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium in Rourkela. The largest field hockey stadium in the world, the Birsa Munda International Hockey Arena can accommodate 20,000 spectators.

Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: Complete Schedule 

FixtureRoundDateTime (IST)Venue
Argentina vs South AfricaGroup StageJanuary 131:00 PMBhubaneswar
Australia vs FranceGroup StageJanuary 133:00 PMBhubaneswar
England vs WalesGroup StageJanuary 135:00 PMRourkela
India vs SpainGroup StageJanuary 137:00 PMRourkela
New Zealand vs ChileGroup StageJanuary 141:00 PMRourkela
Netherlands vs MalaysiaGroup StageJanuary 143:00 PMRourkela
Belgium vs KoreaGroup StageJanuary 145:00 PMBhubaneswar
Germany vs JapanGroup StageJanuary 147:00 PMBhubaneswar
Spain vs WalesGroup StageJanuary 155:00 PMRourkela
England vs IndiaGroup StageJanuary 157:00 PMRourkela
Malaysia vs ChileGroup StageJanuary 161:00 PMRourkela
New Zealand vs NetherlandsGroup StageJanuary 163:00 PMRourkela
France vs South AfricaGroup StageJanuary 165:00 PMBhubaneswar
Argentina vs AustraliaGroup StageJanuary 167:00 PMBhubaneswar
Korea vs JapanGroup StageJanuary 175:00 PMBhubaneswar
Germany vs BelgiumGroup StageJanuary 177:00 PMBhubaneswar
Malaysia vs New ZealandGroup StageJanuary 191:00 PMBhubaneswar
Netherlands vs ChileGroup StageJanuary 193:00 PMBhubaneswar
Spain vs EnglandGroup StageJanuary 195:00 PMBhubaneswar
India vs WalesGroup StageJanuary 197:00 PMBhubaneswar
Australia vs South AfricaGroup StageJanuary 201:00 PMRourkela
France vs ArgentinaGroup StageJanuary 203:00 PMRourkela
Belgium vs JapanGroup StageJanuary 205:00 PMRourkela
Korea vs GermanyGroup StageJanuary 207:00 PMRourkela
2nd Pool C vs 3rd Pool DCrossoverJanuary 224:30 PMBhubaneswar
2nd Pool D vs 3rd Pool CCrossoverJanuary 227:00 PMBhubaneswar
2nd Pool A vs 3rd Pool BCrossoverJanuary 234:30 PMBhubaneswar
2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool ACrossoverJanuary 237:00 PMBhubaneswar
1st Pool A vs Winner 25QuarterfinalJanuary 244:30 PMBhubaneswar
1st Pool B vs Winner 26QuarterfinalJanuary 247:00 PMBhubaneswar
1st Pool C vs Winner 27QuarterfinalJanuary 254:30 PMBhubaneswar
1st Pool D vs Winner 28QuarterfinalJanuary 257:00 PMBhubaneswar
4th Pool A vs Loser 259-16 ClassificationJanuary 2611:30 AMRourkela
4th Pool B vs Loser 269-16 ClassificationJanuary 262:00 PMRourkela
4th Pool C vs Loser 279-16 ClassificationJanuary 264:30 PMRourkela
4th Pool D vs Loser 289-16 ClassificationJanuary 267:00 PMRourkela
Winner 29 vs Winner 32SemifinalJanuary 274:30 PMBhubaneswar
Winner 30 vs Winner 31SemifinalJanuary 277:00 PMBhubaneswar
Loser 33 vs Loser 3413-16 ClassificationJanuary 2811:30 AMRourkela
Loser 35 vs Loser 3613-16 ClassificationJanuary 282:00 PMRourkela
Winner 33 vs Winner 349-12 ClassificationJanuary 284:30 PMRourkela
Winner 35 vs Winner 369-12 ClassificationJanuary 287:00 PMRourkela
Loser 37 vs Loser 383rd Place MatchJanuary 294:30 PMBhubaneswar
Winner 37 vs Winner 38FinalJanuary 297:00 PMBhubaneswar

Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: How To Watch Live  

All  FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 matches will be live-streamed on Disney+Hotstar and can be watched on Star Sports on TV.

Also Read: IND vs NZ T20 Series: New Zealand Squad Announced: Santner To Lead, No Place For Kane Williamson