Quinton de Kock fake act to run Fakhar Zaman out in the 2nd ODI has given air to a big controversy. Soon after the game, the social media was filled with posts criticizing the Proteas wicketkeeper. Now MCC has given their verdict over that instance and said that everything was in the hands of on-field umpire.
Pakistan got a mammoth target to chase in the 2nd ODI. A major group thought that it was going to be a one-sided affair. But that was not the case. Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman played one of his career best knock against hosts. He smashed 193 runs and missed out on his 2nd double ton in the 50-over format.
MCC Gives Its Verdict Says On-Field Umpire Holds The Power To Decide
During 193 run knock against South Africa, Fakhar Zaman broke several batting records like he is the batsmen to score most runs in the 2nd innings. However, his remarkable effort went in vain as Pakistan lost the game by a small margin of 27 runs.
In the 2nd innings, a controversial instance happened when Quinton de Kock pointed towards the non-strikers end and run Fakhar Zaman out. Meanwhile, the southpaw was almost their in the crease but the fake attempt from Proteas wicketkeeper distracted him due to which he got run-out.
This instance attracted an unwanted controversy and a major group wanted ICC to punish Proteas player. Now, MCC has given its verdict over the the controversial instance. They feel that the on-field umpire holds the power to deny the run-out. But that never happened in the game.
As per the rules, if any player tries to distract or decieve an opponent player with their tricks then the opposition will get five runs extra.