HomeTop ListsList of double Centuries in ODI International...

List of double Centuries in ODI International Cricket


ODI Double Century: Cricket is one of the most popular sports in the world. Hence, any big record or milestone that a player achieves will be remembered by the public forever. One such record is an ODI double hundred.

Once thought to be impossible, it was the “God of Cricket” Sachin Tendulkar who first crossed the landmark in 2010. Since then a few elite men’s and women’s players have achieved this record as well.

In this article, we will look at the players who scored the elusive ODI double century. We have arranged the list based on individual scores so that you can get to know the highest ODI score by an individual as well.

Without any further ado, let’s go into the list of ODI Double Centuries:

List of double Centuries in ODI International Cricket

Rohit Sharma (264)

Rohit Sharma

The highest individual score in the world currently is held by India’s Rohit Sharma. The “Hitman” as he is fondly called went berzerk against Sri Lanka in 2014.

Rohit Sharma smashed a whopping 264 in the Eden Gardens at a strike rate of over 150. India comfortably won the match courtesy of the openers’ unforgettable knock. It would be very tough for any player to ever chase this score down in world cricket.

Name of the PlayerRohit Sharma
OppositionSri Lanka
Strike Rate152.60
StadiumEden Gardens, Kolkata, IND
Date13th November 2014
Match ResultIndia won the match

Martin Guptill (237*)

Martin Guptill (New Zealand)

The second-highest score in ODI cricket was scored by New Zealand’s Martin Guptill. Marty Two Toes as he is fondly called scored a blitzkrieg 237* against the West Indies at home.

The match took place in the 2015 edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup. Martin Guptill’s knock was smashed with a strike rate of 145.39. This innings at the Westpac Stadium went a long way in helping New Zealand qualify for the knockout stages of the event.

Name of the PlayerMartin Guptill
CountryNew Zealand
OppositionWest Indies
Strike Rate145.39
StadiumWestpac Stadium, Wellington, NZ
Date21st March 2015
Match ResultNew Zealand won the match

Amelia Kerr (232*)

The third name on this list is that of Amelia Kerr, the player of New Zealand’s women’s cricket team. Just like her countryman, Guptill, Amelia Kerr remained not out after smashing an astounding 232.

This record stands as the highest score in ODI women’s cricket. Amelia Kerr smashed this record against the Irish Women’s cricket team in 2018. The match at Dublin saw the New Zealander hit 31 boundaries in her innings.

Name of the PlayerAmelia Kerr
CountryNew Zealand (women)
OppositionIreland (women)
Strike Rate160.00
StadiumCastle Avenue, Dublin, IRE
Date13th June 2018
Match ResultNZ women won the match

Virender Sehwag (219)

Virender Sehwag

The opening partnership between Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar would always stay fresh in the minds of all the cricket fans. The duo was meant for each other. Tendulkar liked to build his innings calmly whereas Sehwag would go “Hulk Smash” from the first ball!

Owing to his hitting prowess, Virender Sehwag deservedly got his name in the 200s club as he smashed the West Indies bowlers in 2011. Fresh after winning the 2011 World Cup, the Indian opener hit 25 boundaries and 7 sixes as he scored his personal best of 219 in the game helping India to a comfortable win.

Name of the PlayerVirender Sehwag
OppositionWest Indies
Strike Rate146.97
StadiumHolkar Cricket Stadium, Indore, IND
Date8th December 2011
Match ResultIndia won the match

Chris Gayle (215)

Chris Gayle (West Indies) 10 Longest sixes in Cricket History!

The West Indian ace has smashed 175 runs in a T20 game! So it is quite natural to see Chris Gayle on this esteemed list.

The power hitter smashed a whopping 215 against Zimbabwe in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup. Gayle smashed 16 sixes and 10 fours at a strike rate of 146 as the crowd at the Manuka Oval witnessed a special knock from a special player!

Name of the PlayerChris Gayle
CountryWest Indies
Strike Rate146.25
StadiumManuka Oval, Canberra, AUS
Date24th February 2015
Match ResultWest Indies won the match

Fakhar Zaman (210*)

Imam Ul Haq and Fakhar Zaman

Zimbabwe saw themselves conceding another individual 200+ score, this time by the Pakistani Fakhar Zaman.

Fakhar Zaman smashed 210* in the 2018 tour of Zimbabwe with 24 fours and 5 sixes in his innings. The special knock from the batter meant that he became the person with the highest individual score from his country at Queens Sports Club ground.

Name of the PlayerFakhar Zaman
Strike Rate134.61
StadiumQueens Sports Club, Bulawayo, ZIM
Date20th July 2018
Match ResultPakistan won the match

Rohit Sharma (209)

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan

Featuring again on this list is Rohit Sharma! The Indian international’s first ODI double century came against Australia at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

The Indian batter made the most of the batting track as he smashed 12 fours and 16 sixes in his well-paced innings. The special knock made him the third Indian to achieve this feat in ODI cricket.

Name of the PlayerRohit Sharma
Strike Rate132.28
StadiumM. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, IND
Date2nd November 2014
Match ResultIndia won the match

Rohit Sharma (208*)

Rohit Sharma: 43 million followers

Yep! Him again! Rohit Sharma’s third ODI double century came against Sri Lanka in 2017. Sharma smashed 13 fours and 12 sixes en route to a 208* score at the Mohali stadium.

Who is to say that Rohit Sharma won’t add another double century before his career ends?

Name of the PlayerRohit Sharma
OppositionSri Lanka
Strike Rate135.45
StadiumPCA IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali, IND
Date13th December 2017
Match ResultIndia won the match

Sachin Tendulkar (200*)

Who better to end the list other than the great man himself? Considered by many as the “God of Cricket”, Sachin Tendulkar has achieved almost everything with the bat. Hence, it is not a surprise as the Great Man himself broke the 200 run barrier.

Sachin Tendulkar achieved this feat against South Africa in 2010. The Master Blaster scored a magnificent 200* at the Captain Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior, India to etch his name in the history books forever.

Name of the PlayerSachin Tendulkar
OppositionSouth Africa
Strike Rate136.05
StadiumCaptain Roop Singh Stadium, Gwalior, IND
Date24th February 2010
Match ResultIndia won the match

Read More:

Top 4 dangerous teams in IPL 2022

Top 12 longest sixes in International Cricket history

12 best fielders in the world

Share post:


More like this

Did AIFF hire an astrologer to help India win the AFC Asian Cup berth?

According to a report by PTI news, AIFF spends...

IND vs SA 2022: ‘I would have stopped Rishabh Pant from becoming captain’

Rishabh Pant's skills as a player and substitute captain...

ICC Women’s ODI Rankings: Smriti Mandhana Holds on to Eighth spot, Jhulan Goswami Slips To eleventh

On Tuesday ICC updated the Women's ODI rankings. Since...

Lisa Sthalekar appointed as the first woman president of the FICA

At the FICA Executive Committee meeting held in Nyon,...
Get Free Team
Sign up to Get Free Team