MI vs RR Head to Head Record in IPL


Mumbai Indians will take on Rajasthan Royals in the 9th Match of the IPL 2022. Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai will host this fixture on April 02 at 03:30 pm.

In IPL history, both teams have clashed in a total of 25 games of which 13 have been won by the Mumbai Indians and 11 by Rajasthan Royals while one match was abandoned without a bowl being bowled. Last year in 2021, Mumbai walked away with two comfortable wins over the Royals. One win came in the India leg by 7 wickets while one came in UAE leg at Sharjah by 8 wickets.

In their last encounter, batting first, Rajasthan could only manage to score a paltry 90. Evin Lewis high-scored 24. Five of their players were dismissed at single digits. Nathan Coulter-Nile remained the man of the match bagging four wickets. James Neesham picked three wickets and Jasprit Bumrah picked two.

In the chase, an unbeaten 50 from Ishan Kishan paved the way for Mumbai’s win with eight wickets in hand. Mustafizur Rahman and Chetan Sakariya picked a wicket apiece for the Royals. Ishan Kishan became the 10th Player to complete 1000 Runs for Mumbai Indians in this fixture.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians are inarguably one of the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League. Having won the prestigious title most times in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020, they are the top contenders this year as well. However, they had an unfortunate run last season as they finished at the 5th spot with seven wins and as many losses.

Rohit Sharma is set to captain the franchise again and will open the batting alongside Ishan Kishan. Kishan is prominent for his stylish batting and will go all guns ablaze from the first ball. Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard will keep things afloat after the opening duo. The No. 4 position will be possibly filled by the 19-year-old young talent from Hyderabad, Tilak Verma.

Mumbai will be relying on some newcomers like Tim David & Sanjay Yadav to finish matches for them. While Tim David is already a lethal player of the shorter format of the game, Sanjay Yadav also has some prior experience with Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Jasprit Bumrah will once again lead the bowling attack for Mumbai Indians while Murugan Ashwin will pose as their lead spinner. Daniel Sams and Tymal Mills will also compliment Bumrah in the pace department.

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals, on the other hand, won their maiden IPL title way back in the inaugural edition of IPL in 2008. Royals defeated Chennai Super Kings in the final by three wickets. However, their performance has seen a steep decline in the past years as failed to reach the playoffs from the past three years.

This year they made some strong additions to their squad with the main focus on making their top order strong. Sanju Samson will continue as their leader for the second time. The opening spot will be reserved for Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Butler who did well in the past edition. Meanwhile, Devdutt Padikkal should continue to play at the No. 3 spot.

Coming to the bowling, the Royals have a fine blend of experience and young blood in their arsenal. Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Ravichandran Ashwin form the perfect bowling attack alongside Navdeep Saini and Prasidh Krishna serving as powerplay specialists.

MI vs RR Head to Head Records

Matches PlayedMI WonRR WonTieNo Result
DateWinnerWon ByVenue
05-Oct-2021Mumbai Indians8 WicketsSharjah
29-April-2021Mumbai Indians7 WicketsDelhi
26-Oct-2020Rajasthan Royals8 WicketsAbu Dhabi
6-Oct-2020Mumbai Indians57 RunsAbu Dhabi
20-April-2019Rajasthan Royals5 WicketsJaipur
13-Apr-2019Rajasthan Royals4 WicketsMumbai
13-May-2018Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsMumbai
22-April-2018Rajasthan Royals3 WicketsJaipur
1-May-2015Mumbai Indians8 RunsMumbai
14-April-2015Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsAhmedabad
25-May-2014Mumbai Indians5 WicketsMumbai
19-May-2014Mumbai Indians25 RunsAhmedabad
6-October-2013Mumbai Indians33 RunsDelhi
21-September-2013Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsJaipur
24-Apr-2013Mumbai Indians4 WicketsKolkata
17-April-2013Rajasthan Royals87 RunsJaipur
15-April-2013Mumbai Indians14 RunsMumbai
20-May-2012Mumbai Indians10 WicketsJaipur
11-Apr-2012Mumbai Indians27 RunsMumbai
20-May-2011Rajasthan Royals10 WicketsMumbai
29-April-2011Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsJaipur
11-April-2010Mumbai Indians37 RunsJaipur
13-March-2010Mumbai Indians4 RunsMumbai (BS)
14-May-2009Rajasthan Royals3 WicketsDurban
21-Apr-2009Match AbandonedDurban
26-May-2008Rajasthan Royals5 WicketsJaipur
7-May-2008Mumbai Indians7 WicketsMumbai (DY)

Top Batsmen with Most Runs in MI vs RR Head to Head

Sanju Samson remains the highest run-scorer in MI vs RR clashes at 530 Runs. Followed by Ajinkya Rahane who found his way into the KKR squad. For Mumbai, Rohit Sharma leads the run tally at 393 Runs, followed by Kieron Pollard at 373 Runs.

Sanju Samson530 Runs
Ajinkya Rahane409 Runs
Rohit Sharma393 Runs
Kieron Pollard373 Runs

Top Bowlers with Most Wickets in MI vs RR Head to Head

Dhawal Kulkarni remains the highest wicket-taker in the past MI vs RR clashes. Followed by Kieron Pollard’s 15 Wickets and then Jasprit Bumrah with 14 Wickets. Statistically, Mumbai has the upper hand with the most number of wickets in past clashes.

Dhawal Kulkarni17
Kieron Pollard15
Jasprit Bumrah14
Harbhajan Singh14
Shane Watson13

IPL 2022 Group A & Group B

Mumbai IndianChennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
Delhi CapitalsPunjab Kings
Lucknow Super GiantsGujarat Titans

IPL 2022: MI Complete Squad

Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Basil Thampi, Murugan Ashwin, Jaydev Udadkat, Mayank Markande, N Tilak Varma, Sanjay Yadav, Jofra Archer, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, Tim David, Arshad Khan, Anmolpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Fabian Allen, Aryan Juyal, Riley Meredith.

IPL 2022: RR Full Squad

Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Shubham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie van der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell.

Rajasthan Royals IPL 2022 Schedule

FixtureDateTime (IST)Venue
SRH vs RRMarch 29, 20227:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
MI vs RRApril 2, 20223:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
RR vs RCBApril 5, 20227:30 PMWankhede Stadium
RR vs LSGApril 10, 20227:30 PMWankhede Stadium
RR vs GTApril 14, 20227:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
RR vs KKRApril 18, 20227:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
DC vs RRApril 22, 20227:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
RCB vs RRApril 26, 20227:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
RR vs MIApril 30, 20227:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
KKR vs RRMay 2, 20227:30 PMWankhede Stadium
PBKS vs RRMay 7, 20223:30 PMWankhede Stadium
RR vs DCMay 11, 20227:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
LSG vs RRMay 15, 20227:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
RR vs CSKMay 20, 20227:30 PMBrabourne – CCI

Mumbai Indians IPL 2022 Schedule

FixtureDateTime (In IST)Venue
MI vs DCMarch 27, 20227:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
MI vs RRApril 2, 20223:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
KKR vs MIApril 6, 20227:30 PMMCA Stadium – Pune
RCB vs MIApril 9, 20227:30 PMMCA Stadium – Pune
MI vs PBKSApril 13, 20227:30 PMMCA Stadium – Pune
MI vs LSGApril 16, 20227:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
MI vs CSKApril 21, 20227:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
LSG vs MIApril 24, 20227:30 PMWankhede Stadium
RR vs MIApril 30, 20227:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
GT vs MIMay 6, 20227:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
MI vs KKRMay 9, 20227:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
CSK vs MIMay 12, 20227:30 PMWankhede Stadium
MI vs SRHMay 17, 20227:30 PMWankhede Stadium
MI vs DCMay 21, 20227:30 PMWankhede Stadium

Read More:

SRH vs RR Head to Head Record in IPL

DC vs MI Head to Head Record in IPL

PBKS vs RCB Head to Head Record in IPL