CSK vs MI Head-to-Head Records In IPL 2023


Regarded as the El Clasico of cricket, the match between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) is often regarded as one of the most high-octane and action packed game.

Two great IPL captains in the form of MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma lock horns with each other and it is at the centre of the cricketing universe. Undoubtedly, the most exciting game of all time.

In IPL 2023, Mumbai and Chennai play each other twice. The first game will be played on 8th April 2023 and the next game will be played on 6th May 2023.

The Chepauk Stadium will finally host an IPL game after a hiatus of 3 years and the fans will absolutely go berserk when this year’s IPL games take place over there.

Chennai Super Kings

Surprisingly, Chennai had an underwhelming season in IPL 2022. It was only the 2nd season in which they couldn’t qualify for the finals. With a win percentage of 58.98% in IPL, Chennai are the most successful side in terms of wins.

The MS Dhoni led side have furthermore bolstered their side for IPL 2023 with the addition of English all-rounder Ben Stokes. Stokes is one of the best all-rounders in the world and he can simply breathe fire with the ball and with the ball.

It remains to be seen whether Ben Stokes will bowl in IPL 2023 as he is recovering from a knee injury. With the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 in mind, the English cricketer might play as a specialist batter for CSK.

Mukesh Chowdhary has been ruled out of IPL 2023 but CSK have enough replacements to cover up for him.

Mumbai Indians

5-time IPL winners Mumbai Indians finished with the wooden spoon in IPL 2022. They had a disastrous campaign and finished with only 4 wins in 14 games.

Their long-serving knight Kieron Pollard has retired from IPL and is now the batting coach of Mumbai. Mumbai Indians have roped in Australian talented all-rounder Cameron Green and he will be playing a crucial role for Rohit Sharma’s side.

Mumbai opens their campaign in IPL 2023 with a game against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on 2nd April 2023. The match will be played at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Head-to-Head IPL 2023 Record of CSK vs MI

The Mumbai Indians franchise have a better track record against their arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings in the IPL. Come IPL 2023 and MS Dhoni would be keen on reducing the deficit of wins against Mumbai.

Total: 26

CSK: 14

MI: 20

List of matches played between CSK and MI since IPL 2008

Mumbai Indians have won 19 of the 32 matches so far, while Chennai Super Kings have won 13.

12-May-2022MumbaiMI5 wickets
21-Apr-2022Navi MumbaiCSK3 wickets
19-Sep-2021DubaiCSK20 runs
1-May-2021DelhiMI4 Wickets
23-Oct-2020SharjahMI10 Wickets
19-Sep-2020Abu DhabiCSK5 Wickets
12-May-2019HyderabadMI1 Run
7-May-2019ChennaiMI6 Wickets
26-Apr-2019ChennaiMI46 runs
3-Apr-2019MumbaiMI37 runs
28-Apr-2018PuneMI8 wickets
7-Apr-2018MumbaiCSK1 wicket
23-May-2015KolkataMI41 runs
18-May-2015MumbaiMI25 runs
7-May-2015ChennaiMI6 wickets
16-Apr-2015MumbaiCSK6 wickets
27-May-2014MumbaiCSK7 wickets
9-May-2014MumbaiCSK4 wickets
24-Apr-2014DubaiCSK7 wickets
25-May-2013KolkataMI23 runs
20-May-2013DelhiCSK48 runs
4-May-2013MumbaiMI60 runs
5-Apr-2013ChennaiMI9 runs
19-Oct-2012JohannesburgCSK*6 runs
22-May-2012BangaloreCSK38 runs
5-May-2012MumbaiMI2 wickets
3-Apr-2012ChennaiMI8 wickets
23-Sep-2011ChennaiMI*3 wickets
21-Apr-2011MumbaiMI8 runs
24-May-2010Navi MumbaiCSK22 runs
5-May-2010ChennaiCSK24 runs
24-Apr-2010MumbaiMI5 wickets
15-May-2009Port ElizabethCSK7 wickets
17-Apr-2009Cape TownMI19 runs
13-May-2008MumbaiMI9 wickets
22-Apr-2008ChennaiCSK6 runs

Most runs in CSK vs MI fixtures

Suresh Raina (CSK)- 710 runs

Most wickets in CSK vs MI fixtures

Dwayne Bravo (CSK)- 35 wickets


Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni (c), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Subhranshu Senapati, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Matheesha Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Deepak Chahar, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Ajinkya Rahane, Ben Stokes, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, Sisanda Magala, Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma.

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Tristan Stubbs, Vishnu Vinod, Cameron Green, Arjun Tendulkar, Ramandeep Singh, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Hrithik Shokeen, Arshad Khan, Duan Jansen, Piyush Chawla, Kumar Kartikeya, Raghav Goyal, Jofra Archer, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, Sandeep Warrier

Also read: IPL 2023: Predicting Lucknow Super Giants’ Strongest Playing XI